Welcome to www.OldBike.eu – the Online Bicycle Museum

YOU CAN BUY A BIKE RIGHT NOW! 

VISIT THE BUY-IT-NOW VINTAGE BICYCLE AUCTION

ONLINE AUCTION WEBSITE

http://auction.oldbike.eu

PLEASE CLICK HERE

I recently purchased the contents of a farm museum. My storage is now full! Some of my local Veteran Cycle Club friends have similar problems. So we got together to hold a fabulous vintage bicycle auction and jumble on Sunday 9th March 2014, in Hove, East Sussex.

There were 100 bicycles and tricycles, and 50 lots of unique cycling ephemera.

Many lots have already sold, but some are still available on the website. From £25 projects to unique historic machines, there’s something for everyone…

BuyVintage Auction 9 March 2014 Brighton

You can order a catalogue through auction.oldbike.eu, or by emailing or phoning me direct.

bicycle auction 9 march 2014 hove 480

************

What is http://www.OldBike.eu?

This Online Vintage Bicycle Museum is a public internet database for fellow enthusiasts of vintage bicycles and tricycles.

I’m not an expert, just a vintage vehicle enthusiast and collector with many old cycles.

When I buy an old vehicle, I research its marque; it’s a great way to learn about 20th century social history. I find automobilia and ephemera at autojumbles and shows, and spend my spare time building websites to share what I’ve discovered. I hope this website may help by cross-referencing info and images to identify machines or parts …and also provide pleasure to all who enjoy vintage motoring as much as I do.

Anyone can copy whatever they wish without asking me. If you’re feeling generous, perhaps you can add a credit and/or a link to this website.

‘Old Bike’ will always be a work in progress. I have other vehicle museum websites to research, maintain and update (as well, of course, as the vintage vehicles themselves). Even when typically atrocious British summer weather chains me to the computer rather than inspiring vintage motoring, motorcycling, scootering, cyclemotoring or pedalling around the Sussex hills, with the enormous piles of literature spread around this room begging to be added to my websites, I can’t see me ever catching up.

My day job entails restoration and sales of vintage motorcycles and cars. I always have restorations on the go. As my bicycles are not for sale (though I do exchanges with other collectors), sales vehicles generally take precedence.

We don’t usually restore old vehicles cosmetically, unless they’re too far gone. We treasure examples with original paintwork. The main focus is functionality. In recent years I seem to spend more time locating obscure parts, restoring, researching and writing about them than I actually spend riding them :(

1914_Golden_ Sunbeam_Tricycle

The 1914 Golden Sunbeam Tricycle pictured above is an example of the unrestored condition we prefer. Nevertheless, some bikes are too far gone, and a repaint is the only option. My good friend Pat, who lives in France, has restored many of the bikes you see here. We started pooling our resources years ago when we realized that what’s exotic to collectors in one location is more commonplace elsewhere. I send him fifties 3-speed gents bikes to restore and re-sell in France, and some old British bikes for his personal collection. In exchange I receive various French motorcycles and cyclemotors to re-sell, and German bikes that he’s restored for my personal collection. We spend more time doing this than may be healthy, but derive an enormous amount of pleasure from it.

*********************

You’re welcome to email me. I hope you enjoy this site.

nordapp15_9_09

UPDATE: Since setting up this website, I’ve noticed an increasing interest among younger enthusiasts for motorized bicycles, clip-ons and cycle attachment engines.

1951narcisse_tandem

That’s been my main area of interest and specialization for many years, so I’ve now added more of my cyclemotors and BMA’s to this website for varied interest.

01sheppee_cykelaid

ANNOUNCEMENT – NEW ONLINE MUSEUM WEBSITES!

I’ve updated www.Oldbike.eu – there are now many more rooms in this Online Museum.

To view them PLEASE CLICK HERE

***

I’ve been getting out and about this summer and reporting on various vintage bicycle events.

THIS MONTH’S MOST VISITED PAGES:

IVCA VINTAGE RALLY, June 2011

PHOTOS & VIDEOS

http://www.oldbike.eu/museum/?page_id=1539

PLEASE CLICK HERE

***

BENSON VETERAN CYCLE CLUB 51st ANNUAL RALLY, July 2011

PHOTOS & VIDEOS

http://www.oldbike.eu/museum/?page_id=1738

PLEASE CLICK HERE

***

WARNING: Some pages are ‘x-rated’ so don’t visit if you’re under 18 or offended by naked bodies!

***

BRIGHTON NAKED BIKE RIDE, June 2011

PHOTOS & VIDEOS

http://www.oldbike.eu/museum/?page_id=1609

PLEASE CLICK HERE

***

VINTAGE BICYCLE EROTICA

http://www.oldbike.eu/museum/?page_id=1641

PLEASE CLICK HERE

***

The new www.Oldbike.eu website is a sitemap, and also explains about the importance of the Safety Bicycle, featuring bicycles from 1886 to WW1.

Photos and illustrations are twice the size.

There are also postcards, adverts, early magazines, racing scrapbooks, ideas for vintage cycling outfits, articles on bicycles and flight, water bicycles, bicycle songs, railway bicycles, and much more. I add more all the time.

Published in: on August 13, 2008 at 10:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://oldbike.wordpress.com/2008/08/13/welcome-to-old-bike-the-online-vintage-bicycle-museum/trackback/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

